L.A. Zombie

Alternative Title: 
L.A. Zombie

2010
103.0'
DE
Director: 
Issues & Themes: 
Identity: 
Genre: 
Mode: 
Region: 
Distributor: 
  • Dark Alley Media
Synopsis

Probablement le film le plus controversé et le plus détesté de LaBruce. L.A. Zombie met en scène les escapades d’un zombie itinérant venu d’un autre monde (incarné par la légende française du porn François Sagat) qui couche avec et ainsi ramène à la vie divers marginaux de Los Angeles. Mélangeant le porn à l’horreur et à l’exploitation, le film thématise la perméabilité de corps altérés (ou zombifiés) par le capitalisme. Filmé sur une caméra digitale bon marché, l’appendice monstrueux et résolument extraterrestre de François Sagat pénètre la chair de corps rendus inaptes.

Malgré son intrigue relativement sommaire, le film révolutionne le « gorn » (un mélange de gore et de porno); L.A Zombie référence la carrière de LaBruce (No Skin Off My Ass) et développe ses thèmes de prédilection : l’historiographie du VIH/SIDA et ses tendances nostalgiques, la superficialité d’un monde gay commodifié, le potentiel révolutionnaire d’une communauté d’amants et l’aliénation capitaliste.

L.A. Zombie, qui fut présenté en avant-première à Locarno en 2010 avant d’être interdit en Australie, est une exploration crue et brute des corps et de la pornographie queer, qui confirme encore une fois le savoir-faire esthétique et la vitalité de LaBruce.

Major prizes
Best Foreign Director (Melbourne Underground Film Festival)

L.A. Zombie

Alternative Title: 
L.A. Zombie

2010
103.0'
DE
Director: 
Issues & Themes: 
Identity: 
Genre: 
Mode: 
Region: 
Distributor: 
  • Dark Alley Media
Synopsis

Probably LaBruce's most controversial and despised movie. Starring French porn superstar François Sagat, L.A. Zombie depicts the adventures of a homeless extraterrestrial zombie literally fucking Los Angeles' misfits “back to life.” Building on horror, porn, and exploitation, the film centers on the porousness of bodies altered (or zombified) by capitalism: shot quite cheaply on a digital camera, François Sagat's monstrous and out-of-this-world cock penetrates the flesh of bodies deemed 'unfit'.

Despite a relatively basic plot, this feature set new highs/lows in “gorn” (a portemanteau of gore and porn) – both referencing his earlier career hits  (No Skin Off My Ass) and expanding on his fetish themes: HIV/AIDS historiography and  nostalgic predilections, the superficiality of a commodified gay world, the revolutionary potential of a community of fuckers, and capitalistic alienation.

Premiering at Locarno in 2010 and subsequently banned in Australia, L.A. Zombie is a raw exploration of bodies and queer pornography – proof once more of LaBruce's zeitgeist relevance and aesthetic savoir-faire.

Major prizes
Best Foreign Director (Melbourne Underground Film Festival)