General Idea

Date de naissance
1967
et lieu
Toronto , ON
Canada
Ontario CA
Died
janvier, 1994
Biographie

Collectif d’art interdisciplinaire, vidéastes, Toronto. AA Bronson (Michael Tims, né en 1946), Felix Partz (Ronald Gabe, 1945-1994), Jorge Zontal (Slobodan Saia-Levy, 1944-1994). La vidéo la plus connue de cette équipe du nouveau cinéma queer est Shut the Fuck Up (1985, 14), qui constitue une analyse sur les relations entre les artistes et les médias de masse, un thème avec lequel le collectif a flirté coquettement depuis sa création. Incorporant une imagerie allant de Mondo Cane à Batman, l’enregistrement atteint son paroxysme lors d’un défi passionné :

The pieces of the puzzle don’t add up, they just don’t add up. Are you listening? Are YOU listening? Do you get the picture, do YOU get the picture? Do you know what to say? Do you know what to say when there’s nothing to say? When there’s nothing to say, shut the fuck up. Shut the fuck up.

Par la suite, la nouvelle direction militante s’est de plus en plus démarquée de leur travail, particulièrement au sujet du sida, lorsque Partz et Zontal l’ont contracté. Sous-exposé lors des festivals de cinéma et de vidéos queer, peut-être parce que leur grand éventail de concepts était souvent dénué de contenu gai avec un « g » majuscule ou qu’il avait un effet immédiat de bien-être pour le grand public. Peut-être aussi que, comme l’a mentionné Bronson, on les soupçonnait d’être politiquement incorrects avec leur icône de caniche bien en vue (Carr, 2003). General Idea faisait partie des artistes canadiens les plus connus sur la scène artistique contemporaine internationale et a reçu le prix Bell Canada en 2001 dans la catégorie Art vidéo. Après la mort de son partenaire, Bronson s’est bâti une carrière solo qui fut récompensée.

General Idea

Born
1967
in
Toronto , ON
Canada
Ontario CA
Died
January, 1994
Biography

Interdisciplinary arts collective, video makers, Toronto. AA Bronson (Michael Tims, b. 1946), Felix Partz (Ronald Gabe, 1945 -1994), Jorge Zontal (Slobodan Saia-Levy,1944-1994). The homo pomo team’s best known video was Shut the Fuck Up (1985, 14), an analysis of the relationship of artists and the mass media the collective had been coyly flirting with since their inception. Incorporating imagery from Mondo Cane to Batman, the tape climaxed in a ringing challenge:

The pieces of the puzzle don’t add up, they just don’t add up. Are you listening? Are YOU listening? Do you get the picture, do YOU get the picture? Do you know what to say? Do you know what to say when there’s nothing to say? When there’s nothing to say, shut the fuck up. Shut the fuck up.

Thereafter, this new activist orientation became increasingly visible in their work, especially around AIDS, as Partz and Zontal became sick. Underexposed in queer film and video festivals, perhaps because their work’s arch high conceptualism often lacked “capital-G” gay content or feel-good crowd-pleasing immediacy, or as Bronson charged, they were suspected of being politically incorrect with their much-flaunted icon of a poodle (Carr 2003), General Idea were among the Canadian artists best known on the international contemporary arts scene and received the Bell Canada Award in Video Art 2001. After his partners’ death, Bronson constructed a prizewinning solo career.